Concert “A Night of JACQUES OFFENBACH”

Concert “A Night of JACQUES OFFENBACH”


Conductor: Henri POMPIDOR (France)

and the Singers, the Choir, the Orchestra of the Vietnam National Opera and Ballet

Price (VND): 300000, 400000, 600000   
Free delivery
more details: 0913489858, 0983067996
Performance duration (minutes): 1 hour(s) 45 min(s)
Break: 15

01/11/2017 , 20:00 - Wednesday
Hanoi Opera House, No. 1 Tràng Tiền Str., Hoàn Kiếm, Hà Nội
02/11/2017 , 20:00 - Thursday
Hanoi Opera House, No. 1 Tràng Tiền Str., Hoàn Kiếm, Hà Nội

PART I (42’)

1 - Ouverture de La vie parisienne (6 minutes)


2 – « On me nomme Hélène la blonde » from La belle Hélène (4’)

Soprano: Bui Trang and the Orchestra

3 – « Ce n’est qu’un rêve » from La belle Hélène (9’)

Duet Soprano and Tenor: Bui Trang & Anh Vu

4 – « Belle nuit, o nuit d’amour » (barcarolle) from Les contes d’Hoffman (4’)


Duet Soprano/Mezzo Soprano: Thu Quynh – Tran Trang and the Choir, the Orchestra

5 - Ouverture d’Orphée

6 – « O mon cher amant je te jure » (air de la lettre) from La périchole (5’)

Soprano : Tran Trang and the Orchestra

7 – « Ah mon dieu que les hommes sont bêtes » from La périchole (2’)


Soprano: Vanh Khuyen and the Orchesra

8 – « Au mont Ida » from La belle hélène (3’)

Tenor: Anh Vu and the Orchestra

9 – « Gloire au berger victorieux » from La belle Hélène (final of Act 1) (9’)

1 Soprano soloist – Bui Trang, 1 Tenor Soloist – Thanh Binh, 1 Bass Soloist – Huy Duc and 7 Singers (3 Soprano/Mezzo, 2 Tenors & 1 Bass)  and the Choir, the Orchestra


PART II (36’)

10 – Ouverture de La Grande Duchesse de Gerolstein (5 minutes)


11 – « Ah que j'aime les militaires » from La grande Duchesse de Gerolstein (4’)

Soprano: Phuong Thao and the Choir, the Orchestra

12 – « Votre habit a craqué dans le dos » from La vie parisienne (5’)

13 – « En endossant mon uniforme (tout tourne) » from La vie parisienne (final of Act III) (6’)


1 Soprano Soloist – Bui Trang, 1 Tenor Soloist – Dinh Chuc, 1 Bariton – Manh Dung and 7 Singers, the Choir, the Orchestra

14 - Ouverture de la Périchole

15 – « Y a des gens qui se disent espagnol » from Les brigands (3’)

Tenor: Dinh Chuc and the Orchestra

16 – « Je suis brésilien » (Air du brésilien et Galop) from La vie parisienne (Act II) (5’)


Tenor Soloist – Anh Vu and 8 Singers, the Choir, the Orchestra

17 – « Ah quel diner je viens de faire » fom La Périchole (2’)

Soprano: Vanh Khuyen and the Orchestra

18 – « Par nos chansons et par nos cris » from La vie parisienne (final of Act IV) (4’)

1 Soprano Soloist: Tran Trang, 1 Tenor Soloist: Thanh Binh, 1 Bariton Soloist: Manh Dung and 7 Singers, the Choir, the Orchestra

19 – « Ce bal est original » (Galop infernal – CanCan) from Orphée aux enfers (Act II) (3’)

All Singers and the Choir, the Orchestra


Jacques Offenbach, original name Jacob Offenbach (born June 20, 1819, Cologne, Prussia [Germany]—died October 5, 1880, Paris, France), composer who created a type of light burlesque French comic opera known as the operette, which became one of the most characteristic artistic products of the period.

He was the son of a cantor at the Cologne Synagogue, Isaac Juda Eberst, who had been born at Offenbach am Main. The father was known as “Der Offenbacher,” and the composer was known only by his assumed name, Offenbach. Attracted by Paris’s more tolerant attitude toward Jews, Offenbach’s father took him there in his youth, and in 1833 he was enrolled as a cello student at the Paris Conservatoire. In 1844, having been converted to Roman Catholicism Roman, he married Herminie d’Alcain, the daughter of a Spanish Carlist. In 1849, after playing the cello in the orchestra of the Opera - Comique, he became conductor at the Théâtre Français. In 1855 he opened a theatre of his own, the Bouffes-Parisiens, which he directed until 1866 and where he gave many of his celebrated operettas, among them Orphée aux enfers. He then produced operettas at Ems in Germany and an opéra-ballet in Vienna, Die Rheinnixen (1864; Rhine Spirits). Returning in 1864 to Paris, he produced at the Variétés his successful operetta La Belle Hélène (1864). Other successes followed, including La Vie Parisienne (1866), La Grande-Duchesse de Gérolstein (1867), and La Périchole (1868). From 1872 to 1876 he directed the Théâtre de la Gaîté, and in 1874 he produced there a revised version of Orphée aux enfers. Described then as an opéra-féerique (“a fairylike opera”), this venture was a financial failure. In 1876 he made a tour of the United States. The remaining years of his life were devoted to composition.

His only grand Opera, Les Contes d’Hoffmann ( The Tales of Hoffmann), remained unfinished at his death. It was orchestrated and provided with recitatives by Ernest Guiraud, who also introduced the famous barcarolle taken from Die Rheinnixen. Described as an opéra-fantastique, it was first produced at the Opéra-Comique on February 10, 1881. Gaîté Parisienne, a suite of Offenbach’s music arranged by Manuel Rosenthal, remains a popular orchestral work as well as ballet score.

Offenbach is credited with writing in a fluent, elegant style and with a highly developed sense of both characterization and satire (particularly in his irreverent treatment of mythological subjects); he was called by Gioachino Rossini “our little Mozart of the Champs-Elysées.” Indeed, he was almost as prolific as Mozart. He wrote more than 100 stage works, many of which, transcending topical associations, were maintained in the repertory of the 21st century.



Relation News

Other Show


Product has added: